MOUNT ALLISON UNIVERSITY MEETING OF THE UNIVERSITY SENATE

May 11, 2023, 4:00pm Windsor Grand Room & Microsoft Teams (hybrid format)

Present: N. Anthonisen, F. Antonelli, K. Bell, A. Beverley, B. Clayton, A. Comfort, S. Dewolfe, A. Fancy, S. Fanning, D. Hamilton, M. Hamilton, J. Hennessy (Chair), C. Ionescu, K. Johnston, K. Keleher, L. Keliher, A. Kreuger, R. Lapp, M. Levesque, A. Lepage, C. Lovekin, C. MacDougall, C. Major, V. Meli, R. Moser (Secretary), G. Ouellette, T. Reiffenstein, R. Rubin, S. Runge, S. Park, C. Pringle-Carver, S. Sarkar, V. St. Pierre, J. Tomes, N. Vogan, B. Walters

08.05.11 Discussion: Honorary Degrees Committee TOR (K. Johnston)

Motion (K. Johnston / K. Bell): That the joint committee on honorary degrees propose a revised process for nominating, vetting, and awarding honorary degrees in accordance with the rationale here given.

Motion carried

Prior to the vote the Chair noted that the rationale was given in the short statement provided with the Senate materials package, and he invited discussion on the motion. Senator A. Krueger read the following statement:

We support a revised process for nominating, vetting, and awarding honorary degrees. We feel that the university's current rationale for awarding honorary degrees to "individuals who are nationally or internationally recognized within their fields, those who have demonstrated service to Mount Allison or the wider community, or prominent public persons" does not provide sufficient criteria for awarding the university's top honor. We also believe that the university must ensure there are measures for governing bodies to properly vet candidates. We feel that the current process for awarding honorary degrees does n (t)-2. 4orrafTeienorsiunived wesdose (uni)6.2 (ve)ho6rons(r)-2 (o)10.9 (ypho)10.oeal(uni) fxst (t (t (o)10.(e)-1.6 (3 (i)2)).

B. Clayton noted a typo in the RELG proposal on p. 13 of the Academic Matters report proper. A course appears in the report as RELG 3671 but it should be approved for the Calendar as RELG 3681. The Registrar acknowledged the needed minor change.

11.05.11 Report from the Committee on Committees (S. Runge)

S. Runge read the following statement:

Robbie Moser begins a sabbatical on July 1, 2023, ending his term as Secretary of Senate. As of yet, no faculty member or librarian has stepped forward to succeed Dr. Moser in this role.

The Committee on Committees will therefore seek nominations from the floor for a faculty member or librarian to serve as Secretary of Senate for a five-year term beginning July 1, 2023. The resulting nomination(s) will result in either an acclamation by Senate or an election by Senate if more vjcp"qpg"pqokpcvkqp"ku"tgegkxgf0"

If no nominations are received, faculty should contact committees@mta.ca ASAP should they be interested in serving in this position.

The statement was followed by a moment of silence. Then, with startling abruptness, that moment was followed by many other such moments.

There was some discussion to put an omnibus motion forward for all the changes proposed in the report from Committees. This resulted in the following motion:5 (n)DC 0 Tw 28.5526 W (i)7 m4s6.3 7.36 Tm[(m

The Academic Matters (Regulations) Committee

1 faculty member from the Faculty of Social Sciences Erin Steuter

The Admissions and Readmissions Committee

1 faculty member or librarian Justin Liefer

The Committee on Emeriti Appointments

Elizabeth Stregger

The Research Ethics Board

2 faculty members or librarians Doruk Uysal Irak Alison O'Connor

The Scholarships and Bursaries Committee

2 faculty members or librarians
Danielle Inkpen
David Rogosin

The Teaching and Learning Committee

7 (E))1Tw 12.511 0 Td9.848(EMC P MCID 5 BDC -1462 1 Tf-12.533 -1.-9.848()Tj1.63 P MCID 5 BDC -147.5

The Academic Matters (Regulations) Committee

Yuanhao Ma

The Admissions and Readmissions Committee

Isaac McCardle

The Committee on Emeriti Appointments

(one vacancy remaining)

The Committee on Students with Disabilities

Mathilde Christjansen Sam Walsh (one vacancy remaining)

The Experiential Learning Committee

Isaac McCardle

The Graduate Studies Committee

Ryan Wahl

The Graduation Review Committee

(one vacancy remaining)

The International Programs Committee

Ainsley Baillie

The Research and Creative Activities Committee

Olivia Hart Rajan Minocha-McKenney

The Scholarships and Bursaries Committee

Olivia Hart

The Senate Agenda Committee

Spencer Scott

The Teaching and Learning Committee

Yuanhao Ma Rajan Minocha-McKenney

The University Planning Committee

Olivia Hart Isaac McCardle

The Honorary Degrees Committee

(one vacancy remaining)

The following changes to the Terms of Reference of the committees as indicated:

Experiential Learning Committee: